Skip to content Airbnb
deluxe room
Family Peace House your 2nd Home
Family Peace House your 2nd Home
12 guests
1 bedroom
16 beds
8 private baths
12 guests
1 bedroom
16 beds
8 private baths
You won’t be charged yet

As the name speaks Family Peace House is located in quiet neighborhood Paknajol 5 minuets walk from Thamel the main tourist district. FPH is your home away from home where friends & family meet to talk about their adventures & travel experiences. We offer private rooms with attached bathroom,hot shower,wall fan,strong WiFi in room (some with balcony),safe drinking water,toilet roll,city map,kitchen facilities are bonus. FPH is run by 2 Malla family from west of Nepal.

The space

We are a family run Guesthouse in a quiet local neighborhood located minutes away from the tourist district of Thamel. Our Names are Bimal and Hemraj and we have been hosting people from all over the world for many years. Our combined knowledge of our beautiful country will help guests feel comfortable while traveling around Kathmandu or into the breathtaking countryside. Although parts of Nepal have been recently devastated by an earthquake we are more determined than ever to make our country better. We appreciate all the support we have received from friends around the world to help us during this difficult time. We want to assure you that Nepal is safe for travel and we will do our best to make our guests comfortable and confident during their stay.
We offer comfortable single and double rooms with attached bath, running hot and cold shower, some with balconies. Our rooms are bright and cheerful with lots of natural light. Our hot water system is supplied by both solar and electric systems to ensure you have hot water when you need it.
For relaxing we have many outdoor spaces where you can use our free wifi. We have a comfortable lounge area and back garden or if you prefer you can enjoy our rooftop where you can overlook the city and see the distant mountains. If you are interested in practicing yoga our rooftop is the perfect place. As well their is a yoga studio a few minutes down the street.
We also have a small restaurant, perfect for breakfast or afternoon lunch. We hope you enjoy your stay with us and because we are family owned and operated we take pride in making sure our guests will be happy and comfortable during your stay.
Should you need airport pickup we can arrange for you at your convenience. We are a 5 minute walk to the buses arriving from Pokhara and about 15 minutes walk for bus departures.

Guest access

As a guest you will have full access to all amenities in the guesthouse. We have night time security to ensure your safety. Should you be arriving late or enjoying a night out on the town we have a night time buzzer to ensure evening access to the guesthouse,

Interaction with guests

We have many common areas in the guesthouse where guests can mingle together or talk over a drink in our restaurant, sit in the back garden or take in the views from the rooftop.

Other things to note

Should you be interested in travel information Both of us are experienced guides and we can advise you or help you arrange your travel plans throughout Nepal.


Amenities
Internet
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Family/kid friendly

Prices
Extra people €4 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
4 king beds, 4 queen beds, 5 double beds, 4 single beds

House Rules
Check-in time is 9AM - 10PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

No smoking in room, come back before 12 midnight, keep noise to a minimum after 10 pm, leave your room key at reception when you check ou. We strive to create a happy environment where we can converse with our guests and they can enjoy each others company in our guesthouse.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

72 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Maggie User Profile
October 2017
Quiet location but still close to the main drag. Bed was cozy and roof top hang out area was nice at night to look over the city lights.

Jenny User Profile
October 2017
You will not go wrong with Family Peace House. I was so comfortable. The room and ensuite was really clean and spacious. Most of all you are taken care of, all my questions were answered, I enjoyed really delicious meals from the menu, Masala milk tea, there was clean water, great roof top views and good wifi connection. I wanted to go to Nagarkot and received help organising a driver. Laundry is also really easy and is charged by weight. I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay here again.
Family User Profile
Response from Family:
Thank you Jenny for staying with us and sharing your beautiful experience. We will always be satisfied to know our satisfied customer who stay with us. Thank you again and you are welcome to Family Peace House anytime.
October 2017

David User Profile
October 2017
I enjoyed my time at Family Peace House - it really does feel like a nice little getaway from all the noise of Thamel. It’s within walking distance of Durbar square and Thamel, and an ideal location if you want a little bit of peace and quiet while still having easy access to all the shops/sights etc. Bimal was also extremely accommodating when I needed to extend my stay for an extra day at the last minute - highly recommended.
Family User Profile
Response from Family:
Thank you David for sharing your staying experience with us. You are always welcome to Family Peace House. We will be more than happy to meet you in future.
October 2017

Loris User Profile
October 2017
I booked this room on the web site the 21 september for the 2 october. I received by email a positif answer for the booking. when I came the 2 october at the reception to get my room, they put me in a other hostel without explication or any reason ! they said: we work with this hostel.. of course the room was different as the picture on the ad.. I booked for something i didn't get... apparently they like "overbooked" the rooms totally unprofessional !!
Family User Profile
Response from Family:
You are right that we put you in different hostel because we had group of 42 people. But still we provided room with bathroom and shower, breakfast. It was just one night and should not be big deal. We will take care our customer.
October 2017

Tobias User Profile
September 2017
It's an ok place for a night. Had no towels/ toilet paper in my room with private bathroom. Stripped the pillow cases and used them lol. Pillows with blood stains quite disgusting. Fan didnt work and no effort by staff to replace. Noisy and bed not comfortable. Good location and good price that's it.
Family User Profile
Response from Family:
Thank you Tobias for your feedback. You just booked one night and arrived late night. We always have towels in room..may be you didn't see it. About toilet paper and sop, we have in reception area in table where everybody can see and take if they needed. About cleanness and comfort...we have standard cleanness and comfort for Nepali standard. You were asking also Air condition for $10 and breakfast and you expect 5 star service. Expect what do you pay.
September 2017

Franz User Profile
September 2017
Perfectly located, good value for money, very helpful/friendly hosts. Easy choice.
Family User Profile
Response from Family:
Thank you Franz for your friendly stay. We will remember you for chess game. You are good guest for us. Welcome back to family peace house anytime.
September 2017

Benjamin User Profile
July 2017
Very friendly, and quiet just off the main tourist area, easy to walk to everywhere and good value :)

Kathmandu, NepalJoined in September 2015
Family User Profile

We are a family run guest house in a quiet local neighborhood located 5 minutes away from the main tourist district of Thamel. Our names are Bimal Malla and Hemraj Malla and we have been hosting people from all over the world for many years. Our combined knowledge of our beautiful country will help guests feel comfortable while traveling around Kathmandu, whether in the busting cities or our breathtaking countryside. Our hostel is home to many backpackers and trekkers en route to famous treks like the Annapurna circuit or the Everest base-camp, and throughout the day it's an incredibly social environment where guests often meet other travelers from around the world seeking the same adventures as they are.

We offer comfortable single, double and triple rooms with attached bathrooms and running hot and cold showers; some rooms come with balconies, a wall fan, and cable TVs. Our rooms are bright and clean with lots of natural light. Our hot water system is supplied by both a solar and an electric system to ensure you have hot water when you need it.

For relaxing before or after you go out, we have many outdoor spaces where you can use our free Wi-Fi. We have a comfortable lounge area and the back garden or, if you prefer, you can enjoy our rooftop where you can overlook the entire city and see the distant mountains and the infamous monkey temple. If you are interested in practicing yoga our rooftop is the perfect place. We also have a small restaurant that is perfect for breakfast, hot and cold drinks and afternoon lunch. Our family hopes you enjoy your stay with us, as we take pride in making sure our guests will be happy and comfortable while we ensure you feel like a member of the Peace House family.

Should you be interested in travel information, both Hemraj and I are experienced guides and can advise or help you arrange your adventure travel plans in Nepal.

We pride ourselves on cleanliness, comfort and friendliness. Welcome to our family!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings